New to the Threefold Mafia

Greetings people from the internet! I’m new to the Threefold Mafia and I have some questions for you fine folks.

1. Do all 2.1 nodes come certified or is there any additional steps we need to do to get certification for our node?
  2. I saw Scott post about other certifications such as having bandwidth certified, will there be guides for this later on?
  3. What tips and expertise can you guys shine my way in regards to providing maximum uptime? I’ll give an example. I woke up and logged on to my computer yesterday, and I noticed that my internet went to a screaming halt. I was getting about less than 2MB downstream, when I’m normally north of 300-400MB for my download speed. With certified nodes agreeing to have a max downtime of 1.44 hours/month, something like this can really hurt farming. I believe this is an ISP issue with Comcast. And it could also be the modem/router that I have from them. This is the first time it’s happened, and I just received this modem/router last month. So I’m not sure if this event an outlier or something that’s guaranteed to happen again.

My concern is that if I wake up, and some event like this happens, des that mean that I won’t be able to farm for the next 30 days? Or my rewards that I have built up for the last 30 days be unrewarded? What are your suggestions if you were in my situation? I’m not too sure if upgrading to gigabit internet will actually guarantee better service from my own ISP. And if you’re wondering, Comcast is the currently the best provider in my area.

Thank you for taking the time to read through my questions!

Hi @meteor,

Short answers to your questions:

1. The 2.1 nodes will be certified when they arrive. No additional steps identified so far.
  2. Throughput measurement is being worked on for v3 release. Stay tuned to get more info soon. However, so far, this does not have an influence on the monthly farming revenue, it will have an impact on the revenue for usage.