Farmer's TFT Wallets and Security

2020 should see a year of enormous growth and Farmers hopefully will soon be receiving Cultivation (sales) TFT revenue in addition to Farming (connection) TFT revenue.

The 3bot Connect wallets will be more widely used from now on and Farmers should be focusing on audit and security procedures as TFT can easily be lost through poor wallet management and as TF’s profile increases scammers will begin to probe for vulnerabilities.

I’m not in a position to give advice as I’m a newbie myself, but I think we should all collaborate to exchange tips and together develop best practices.

3 Likes

Hi Colin,
Thanks for this very useful invitation to exchange ideas on this topic. Keeping your wallet seeds safe and avoid scammers to steal your money is very a important topic to think of.

In the short term there are some basic rules to apply: keep your seed words safely, and NEVER share them, as it’s the keys to steal all. There are ways to have them stored in a fire proof way, like engraving in steel etc.

In the longer term there are some ideas, however not implemented yet as bringing the grid live is the first priority right now.

We have a unique technology to bring some capabilities to the market. Let’s discuss to see if one of the following would bring value, and if so, by when:

• ‘social key recovery’: in the same way as our dispersed storage works, we could split up seed words and represent them in a descriptive way, equations split over the 3bots of your friends and relatives. In case a key needs to be recovered for reason ‘lost’ / ‘deceased’ / … an instruction could be sent out to your friends to recollect the pieces, and a mechanism could be built in that a) x out of y people are needed to reconstruct the data and b) we could have some time delaying factor built in, useful to discourage phishing and/or when heirs needs to reconstruct the full key after a decease.