Bot Synergy: Node Status Bot + Farmerbot

Bot Synergy: Node Status Bot + Farmerbot

Table of Contents

Introduction

Hi farmers of the ThreeFold Grid!

Since the release of the Farmerbot we often have farmers facing some dilemma: should I or should I not use the Farmerbot to save on eletricity bills but risk losing some farming rewards if issues arise?

Being a farmer myself with 7 nodes at a given location, I used the Farmerbot in the past, but at some point I stopped using it. Why? Because some nodes were not being woken up within the 30 minutes time frame and I only learned about this at the end of the minting period, when I received my (diminished) farming rewards.

Seeing the price of TFT pumping at 40 cents one day, I thought: OK let’s do without the Farmerbot because, well those TFT will most likely be the currency of the future, if we listen to Sam Altman’s take on this, and I want to farm as much TFT as possible before minting stops on Stellar!

But one thing changed my mind lately and I thought I’d share it with you. @scott recently made some updates to the Node Status bot, and coupled with the Farmerbot, I think there is no longer a situation where farmers must decide to use or not to use the Farmerbot. It’s not an all or nothing at all situation anymore. There is some compromise possible. Let’s see about that.

Pros and Cons of the Farmerbot

An advantage of the Farmerbot is that you can save on electricity bill since your nodes are not running at all time.

A disadvantage of the Farmerbot is that nodes need to be frequently woken up and within that distribution, at some point a node can miss a wake-up call within the 30 minutes time frame and this can lead to loss of farming rewards.

But do not despair. There is a compromise possible now.

New Update to the Minting Rule

Things have changed lately as ThreeFold listened to the farmers community. This is why we passed a GEP that allows a node to have a “free” 30 minute wake-up call miss per month: