No disks: registration failed (CLOSED)

Hello,

I’m very new to everything ThreeFold and am trying to learn by turning my old desktop computer into a node. As far as I can tell following these instructions DIY Nodes Guide my desktop meets all the hardware requirements. I found a post from someone else that had a similar issue here No disk: registration failed (CLOSED) but, if I read it correctly, that user had multiple drives in a RAID configuration, I just have the one in the desktop. I have wiped the drive using both Linux and Windows and am still coming up with the same error: “This is node no disks: registration failed.” It also says “no ssd disks detected”. I think I followed all the instructions correctly. Any help would be appreciated

When you say your wiped the drive, did you leave it raw with no formatting before booting?

It may be helpful if you could also post the specs on the device

You really need to wipe the disk. Not formatting, especially windows might not be the best choice. If your SSD is at least 500gb and the disk was wiped and not behind a raid controller it should work.
Maybe you can give more details about the disk / controller combination

Give details about your systems - manufacturer, cpu, ram, hdd, ssd…

I have had the same problem. After enabling AHCI mode Z-OS found the ssd.

Just tried wiping the drive instead of formatting and got the same thing. I may have misread the system requirements, is an SSD required? I only have a 500gb HDD. But the specs are an AMD A4-6300 CPU, 500gb HDD, 4gb RAM. Like I said this is an old computer so I wouldn’t be surprised if it wasn’t compatible. Thank you for your reply

SSD is required. Won’t work without one.

Welp there’s my problem. Thank you again

1 Like

Good to know that the solution has been found.

I’ll post a summary of the requirements for future farmers in my next message.